so many firsts

comments 2
on whatever

I am thinking of buying a netbook. To celebrate owning my first laptop (ever!) I started a blog, hence NtheN. Images of myself typing blog entries in a Starbucks shop somewhere in Tagaytay were highly appealing. (And highly unlikely, since my mom won’t let me drive the Vios anywhere outside of Makati.) Anyway. Have trimmed down the list of possible brands to buy to: (1) ASUS EEE PC 1000HE; (2) Acer Aspire One AOD150; or (3) MSI Wind U120. Thinking of upgrading the hard drive to an SSD. I am no techie, but they say that SSDs hold their own better in case of accidental falls etc. Sounds good for siguristas like me.

Looking forward to Cebu next week. It’s my first trip there, and because I am OC (Not the county: Obsessive Compulsive. Self-diagnosed, by the way) I have planned waaay in advance my things to bring and stuff to do beforehand. Have waxed (again, a first) all body parts necessary in order to wear a two-piece suit.

Want to elaborate about the wax a bit. For my first-ever wax I googled tips on what to do and not to do; prowled forums for best places for a wax in Makati; and basically over-prepared. Ended up having it at Lay Bare Salon along Buendia (Star Centrum Building, walk in and take the short staircase to your right). Precy told me that full-body waxes took 3 hours, so my 7PM appointment wasn’t an ideal time to get it (they close at 9PM). So I picked the B-wax and underarms. They threw in a free eyebrow threading as a 1st anniversary promo.

I cried.

Yes, I’ll admit it. Low pain tolerance, possibly. The curse of the first-timer. Or maybe waxing after a looong day at work just wasn’t a good idea in the first place. To cap it off I asked Precy if she ever had a client cry before and she told me I was the first. Great. I talked off my nervousness, basically. Having a stranger gum off hair from your hoo-hoo is no joke, so I was feeling a bit edgy. I also had a pack of Kleenex beside me, blowing my nose from time to time because of a bad cold / embarrassing tear-wiping. I told Precy to stop from time to time for “mini-breaks” when it hurt too much. At some point Precy remarked, “Tapos ma’m magpapa-full body pa sana kayo!” (“And ma’am to think you were thinking of getting the full body wax!”) To which I replied, “Oo, ambisyosa talaga noh?” (“Yes, I am so ambitious.”) Ha. Oh well.

I’ve bought nail polish too, for a planned pedi and mani over the weekend. Bought an Elianto chocolate-colored gloss for my toenails and Mwah! polish for my hands—the John Lloyd Blue color I think. (Was looking for the Piolo shade but Landmark seemed to be all out) No, they won’t match, but I hardly ever match my nails when I do paint them. I remember back in grade school there was one time I painted each toenail a different color (yellow, pink, green, blue, purple). Then again, all of us have our early fashion faux pas.

As you can tell by now, the Cebu trip marks a lot of firsts, and here’s another that “should be in every girl’s wardrobe” (according to a gurl who was probably allowed to overnight at the age of 9 and go out “with a boy” by 12): I bought my first two bikinis the other week. Discovered the joys of looking at local online shops in the process. Too bad, some of the styles I liked were sold out. Who knew people bought bikinis as early as November. Geez.

Local swimwear sites I discovered:

Soak Swimwear. Nui Clothing. The Naked Sun. Tanned Swimwear. Cocotini. Waicoco. Risque Darewear. Twinkle Islandwear. Marcus Pierre. In case you’re shopping for next year’s summer, go visit one of the sites. Oh, a disclaimer: I am not thin, and do not claim to be. Who says only skinnies can wear bikinis? Go ahead and flaunt it, whatever your size (and regardless of whether you think you have anything to flaunt).

my first netbook--mwah!

* Bought a dark blue EEE PC 1000HE this weekend, for only PHP22,700. Free upgrade to 2GB RAM. Woot!

The Author

I am 100% Filipina. I've lived in Manila, Jakarta, and London. Right now, I'm firmly planted in the tiny island of Singapore! I caught the travel bug early on. I also love reading, dark chocolate, spur-of-the-moment food trips, Fridays, dachshunds, and lazy weekends with my family or the Hubby.

2 Comments

  1. Great little computer. I have a Mac and I didn’t want to carry it around the house and possible damage it. So this little number is great. Small fits in any bag and great for travel. Great buy for the price. And I love the color.

  2. eakarat says

    Acer Aspire One AOA150-1178 8.9-Inch
    This mini- laptop is great for pre-teens before they ask for a bigger more powerful one. It has all the needed features of a laptop. The only set back I would say it has is ths small keyboard, for those who are used to bigger lap tops or desk tops it is a little uncomfortable until you get used to it.

Leave a Reply

