babar and shere khan

Leave a comment
asia / on the road / thailand

I have recently decided to get a grip on this blog and start posting more often. I do need some form of writing outlet… otherwise work would get to me too much and all the writing I’ll ever do will be along the lines of debt service cover ratios or credit grades or “for-your action”s or (and I hate this the most) “a gentle reminder.”

To continue on from my trip to Bangkok (in 2009! durr), one of the highlights was when the Boyfriend and I went to the Tiger Temple, where Buddhist monks care for tigers so much, they’re almost tame.

tiger tiger burning bright

I say “almost” because even if they look quite peaceful they still gave me a start when they made sudden moves. I guess it helped that they were all newly-fed and sleepy.

sleepyhead

I remembered the weather was sticky hot. I made the mistake of not wearing any sunscreen and suffered the effects afterwards, when I went back to the hotel and realized my exposed skin was mildly sunburnt.

Hot sun, buddhas, elephants, beehive-shaped ruins… two years on and the three days we spent in the city are a blur. I only had my crappy point-and-shoot with me, but these are some of the photos characteristic of that trip.

beehive temples

we fed him saba bananas (supposedly his favorite) before going for a ride.

the ancient city of ayutthaya

There was one place which I recall wanting to visit, but did not have time for: a “human bakery”, where they make bread shaped like dismembered limbs. Odd, but interesting enough for a visit (and a priceless could-have-been photo of me chomping on an arm ala Walking Dead zombie or such).

chomp

The Author

I am 100% Filipina. I've lived in Manila, Jakarta, and London. Right now, I'm firmly planted in the tiny island of Singapore! I caught the travel bug early on. I also love reading, dark chocolate, spur-of-the-moment food trips, Fridays, dachshunds, and lazy weekends with my family or the Hubby.

Leave a Reply

