emptying henry

Leave a comment
neri's reads / on whatever

This is Henry.

Hi!

Hi! I’m Henry the Hoover.

When I first came to my flat, I was amused to no end to discover that the vacuum cleaner that came with it had a happy smile and a name. Since that first encounter however, I’m ashamed to say that I haven’t changed Henry’s bag. With the newfound freedom and extra time that comes with finishing the CFA exams, I’ve decided to do some belated spring cleaning and clean out Henry in the process.

I didn’t have a clue what to do so I Google-d up instructions (helpful Henry video here and pointless–but funny–Henry video here).

***

It’s evening. I managed to have a productive Jubilee holiday Tuesday:

1. I cleaned the carpet in the flat (note: I cleaned the carpet–this takes way more effort than just vacuuming it. I used Vanish, “for high traffic areas.” You have to wipe it in with a damp cloth, wait two hours while patiently tolerating the feeling of stepping on wet carpet, then vacuum. At least the blue looks brighter already.).

2. I baked red velvet cupcakes which turned out brown and fell in after I put them on an iron rack to cool. I also forgot to put in the buttermilk. Thankfully I did the cream cheese icing right and it tastes better than it looks.

3. Did the stack of dirty dishes in the kitchen. I hate seeing dirty dishes in the sink. They look so intimidating, like a mountain of dirty laundry.

4. I started on my first “for leisure” book in ages. I’ve been accumulating books over the past year or so in anticipation of reading them when I had the time. I’ve filled a shelf-full and the only progress I’ve made so far is finishing my Walking Dead collection up to Volume 13.

I miss reading. I’ve always been an avid reader since I was small, and can vaguely recollect struggling with the word “pebbles” in a Ladybird Hansel and Gretel book my mom gave us to read. I love that my mom started us on the book bug early on.

So I’m picking up the habit again, and have started one of my Jeeves’ books, ‘Carry on, Jeeves.’ I’m enjoying it a lot. I keep giggling at odd times, which is a little dangerous when one’s alone in the flat with the curtains drawn open and neighbors are possibly looking in judging one’s sanity.

Carry On, Jeeves - PG Wodehouse

“Will that be all, sir? Very good, sir.”

Someone like Jeeves would be very useful around the flat. He’d probably bake the red velvet perfectly on his first try.

The Author

I am 100% Filipina. I've lived in Manila, Jakarta, and London. Right now, I'm firmly planted in the tiny island of Singapore! I caught the travel bug early on. I also love reading, dark chocolate, spur-of-the-moment food trips, Fridays, dachshunds, and lazy weekends with my family or the Hubby.

Leave a Reply

