seven years in the making

Leave a comment
the Big Day
The Fiance, my sister and me with Pooh and Gelo from Christine Ong-Te Events, Mark from High Impact (our lights and sounds), and Kaye our lovely caterer (more on the food in future posts)

I ever-so-casually mentioned that the Boyfriend is now the Fiancé a few posts back. We got engaged about a year ago at the Vatican during a trip to Rome, and wedding preparations have been well underway since. Countdown to January 2013!

By way of helping out overseas Filipino brides such as myself, I’ll start telling you about the wedding suppliers we’ve booked for the Big Day.

The Wedding Coordinator

One of the first things we thought to do was hire a wedding coordinator. Though this may not seem essential to brides based locally, in my opinion it’s a must for brides planning from miles away. Considering the seven-hour time difference (eight on DST) between the UK and the Philippines, as well as the sheer number of things we needed to do personally, we felt we needed someone we trusted to be our eyes and ears on the ground. It could be argued that this task may be left to a family member or a best friend, but we decided to leave them to enjoy the celebration as guests and entrust the planning to Christine–better known as Pooh–of Christine Ong-Te Events.

Since we inevitably get asked this question: no, we’re not Fil-Chinese. :) A friend recommended Pooh to us since she was their On-the-Day Coordinator. I had heard of Pooh before too from browsing my favorite wedding photography sites.

We’ve met her several times since on our trips back to Manila and communicated TONS of times via e-mail. So far, so good. I love that she and her team are professional in responding, are quick to spot when you have “i wish…”-type thoughts, and have a network of equally trustworthy wedding suppliers/friends the couple can tap in case of need.

I guess that’s  one of the things I’ve learned in the course of the past year from reading wedding forums, innumerable wedding blogs and magazines, plus looking through various real weddings on Bridal Book: book reliable, tried-and-tested suppliers and leave them to do what they do best. Like one of my suppliers said, they’ve done hundreds of weddings,  but you only get one shot at making your day perfect.

The Fiance, my sister and me with Pooh and Gelo from Christine Ong-Te Events, Mark from High Impact (our lights and sounds), and Kaye our lovely caterer (more on the food in future posts)

The Fiance, my sister and me with Pooh and Gelo from Christine Ong-Te Events, Mark from High Impact (our lights and sounds), and Kaye our lovely caterer (more on the food in future posts)

***

On a different note, I finished ‘Carry On, Jeeves’ and loved it. Why is it that British humor isn’t as mainstream as the one from the chappies across the Atlantic?

The Author

I am 100% Filipina. I've lived in Manila, Jakarta, and London. Right now, I'm firmly planted in the tiny island of Singapore! I caught the travel bug early on. I also love reading, dark chocolate, spur-of-the-moment food trips, Fridays, dachshunds, and lazy weekends with my family or the Hubby.

Leave a Reply

