the beauty of letters

Leave a comment
neri's reads / on whatever
Griffin and Sabine

I’m talking about the handwritten kind–with inkblots, folds, and creases, nestled in envelopes that smell vaguely of strange places. Snail-mailing each other letters isn’t that popular anymore. Maybe that’s why some people dread the post: there’s no joy looking in the post box if it’s just bills and letters from property agents waiting at the bottom.

In my opinion, one of the most beautiful books ever written/drawn is the Griffin & Sabine series. This is a novel told through postcards and letters you can remove from envelopes in the book. Reading it feels a bit like peeking over the shoulders of people sitting next to me on the tube and reading their Metro. I was first introduced through the book through a copy in the St. Scho grade school library (the place has gems from time to time!). I find the drawings hauntingly beautiful.

Griffin and Sabine

Griffin and Sabine – the first book in the trilogy

Griffin and Sabine

The juicy thrill of reading other people’s mail

I’m on a roll with my reading lately. I’ve just finished ‘Slaughterhouse-Five,’ reading it chunks on the tube. It’s the first book that’s moved me in a long time. Reading it felt like a listening to an old song, albeit a sad one–with echoes and undulating sighs.

One thing’s for sure though: I came away from reading the book a little less impressed with ‘The Time Traveler’s Wife.’

Slaughterhouse 5 or the Children's Crusade

So it goes.

Right now I’m in the middle of ‘The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test’ and struggling to keep up with the whizzing. I realize that I’m such a sucker for books with unique names–it’s what almost made me buy ‘The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake’ (glad I didn’t).

currently reading in day-glo pink

currently reading in day-glo pink

The Author

I am 100% Filipina. I've lived in Manila, Jakarta, and London. Right now, I'm firmly planted in the tiny island of Singapore! I caught the travel bug early on. I also love reading, dark chocolate, spur-of-the-moment food trips, Fridays, dachshunds, and lazy weekends with my family or the Hubby.

Leave a Reply

