my bookshelf intimidates me

comments 4
neri's reads

I’ve been accumulating books since arriving here in London, either bought online or in various bookshops all over the city.

The pace I’ve been buying my books has far outstripped the speed with which I read them though. On top of studying for various exams and general busy-ness at work, I’ve fallen far behind on my reading list.

I keep imagining the authors of my books all sitting hunched beside each other on the shelf, throwing me accusatory glances because I haven’t gotten around to reading them yet.

“Read usss…”

Growing up, I read and re-read the books that we had at home. My parents kept our little “library” well-stocked not only with classics and Nancy Drews but also authors like Roald Dahl, Agatha Christie, Enid Blyton, Jane Austen, and Judy Blume.

So yes–I was the kid who always had a book en route to the toilets and had yet another emergency book in my bag at all times “just in case.” I still do, actually.

Yup, that’s me. (Source: Book Riot)


My point being: I’m not used to seeing unread books at my shelf. I generally wolf them down as soon as I get them and, if I like them that much, do a repeat.

If there’s one thing I hate seeing, it’s an unread book.

I guess part of the reason why I haven’t kept up the pace is because I’ve been buying so many. It’s delicious to have the freedom to finally have your own money to spend on whatever you wanted. Combine that with my current home–London, a city of bookworms and rich with so much good reads–ah, the temptation is just too great.

Also featuring my kitschy but cute collection of snowglobes

So while it bothers me that I still have some way to go with the books I now have, in all likelihood I’ll still be adding more. I wouldn’t mind not being able to keep up with all the world’s good authors. I know I’ll barely scratch the surface in my lifetime. What would be more disturbing would be the day when there’s nothing left that’s worth reading.

So it’s okay Shelf, you just wait. I’ll slip another volume in my bag and take you on, one book at a time.

The Author

I am 100% Filipina. I've lived in Manila, Jakarta, and London. Right now, I'm firmly planted in the tiny island of Singapore! I caught the travel bug early on. I also love reading, dark chocolate, spur-of-the-moment food trips, Fridays, dachshunds, and lazy weekends with my family or the Hubby.

4 Comments

  1. I have the same problem. I’m tempted to announce that I will not buy anymore books until the ones on my shelf are read (there’s like 50 unread books, it’s really ridiculous) but I’m not sure I could go to bookstores if I gave up buying. I walk in and immediately find something I want to devour. That’s also the problem – I tend to devour one of the four books I buy and then put the rest on my to-read shelf. I’m moving to a small town soon in North Carolina and it doesn’t have a bookstore so I’m hoping this will be my chance to really read all of the books I’ve had sitting on the shelf (with the authors throwing accusatory glances). There is a bookstore 40 minutes away though that isn’t really helping that case.

    • I’ve made that same announcement to myself many a time…and promptly ignored it. Thanks for dropping by! :) The tribute to children’s lit was my favorite part of the Olympics opening too (the Queen playing Bond Girl is a close second).

    • I love that thought–that there’s a perfect moment for each book. Each one with a totally different world inside. As one of my favorite authors says, “A book is a door. You open it. You step through. Do you come back?”
      Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

