twenty minutes

comments 17
on whatever

You write because you have an idea in your mind that feels so genuine, so important, so true. And yet, by the time this idea passes through the different filters of your mind, and into your hand, and onto the page or computer screen — it becomes distorted, and it’s been diminished. The writing you end up with is an approximation, if you’re lucky, of whatever it was you really wanted to say.

– Author Khaled Hosseini, “How to Write,” the Atlantic

Twenty minutes of stream-of-consciousness thought for our first writing assignment. This reminds me of high school creative writing class.

I’m re-watching Silicon Valley’s first season right now (and I’m still laughing at the jokes). One of the lead characters is dead but there he is very much alive on the screen.

Dinner was chicken and pork adobo with steamed white rice. Technically the Hubby and I should be dieting — or at least, we promised ourselves we would. But resolve melts during times of hunger. It doesn’t help that I have three boxes of Kit-Kats in the fridge, all with funky flavors like “Sakura Matcha,” “Wa-Ichigo” and “Hokkaido Red Bean,” thanks to a recent trip to Tokyo.

Today’s quote from Khaled Hosseini rings true. Thoughts that sound deep and awesome in my head fall flat when I try to write it down. When my phone or a note pad is within reach I try and jot down these thoughts for use later (usually I imagine writing it down in one of my blog posts). When I return to these disjointed thoughts they sound wrong. I delete often and generously when writing.

In my head, I think as if I were writing. This sometimes leads to confusion when I try to explain things, since I tend to begin as if we were already in the midst of conversation (we were! except the conversation started in my head). And then I have to start over again, which is tiring.

We’re watching the Cosmos series. We usually watch it over dinner. The 1-hour duration is just right for a full meal, including dessert. I love shows like these. It brings things to perspective. People like Carl Sagan amaze me. As I always do with stuff that’s caught my attention, I Google-stalked. I’ve only gotten as far as his Wikipedia page where he’s been quoted as saying: “To be certain of the existence of God and to be certain of the nonexistence of God seem to me to be the confident extremes in a subject so riddled with doubt and uncertainty as to inspire very little confidence indeed.” Like I said, Sagan’s amazing.

 

Why do I write? I write because I’m curious. I’m curious about myself, about people and places around me, about how other people feel and think and react to what happens around them. Come to think of it, I suppose it’s the same reason I read a lot.

When I finish this post I’m making myself some hot milk tea… and I’m getting myself a Kit-Kat.

The Author

I am 100% Filipina. I've lived in Manila, Jakarta, and London. Right now, I'm firmly planted in the tiny island of Singapore! I caught the travel bug early on. I also love reading, dark chocolate, spur-of-the-moment food trips, Fridays, dachshunds, and lazy weekends with my family or the Hubby.

17 Comments

  1. The Cosmos is an awesome series! It might help if you try not to edit your words so much. Just have a notebook or a Word file to keep your ramblings in. Because that is how you sift out the good from the bad, and rereading your ramblings can always remind you of ideas you weren’t ready for before :). Good luck with the challenge!

    • thanks for the tip Liz!! i’m trying to make time to write this time (no more excuses!) and a notebook of ideas would certainly help :)

      • It really is such a great feeling to get some words down every single day, no matter what they are! I’m glad you got something from that (I never want to tell people what to do, just what works for me!). Good luck!! :)

  2. Pingback: Unlocking The Mind | THB Files

  3. Entertaining thoughts, thank you for sharing. I had to look up adobo… it looks delicious!
    I never go anywhere without my notebook and camera… I have dozens of notebooks full of random scratchings. I have even been to known to write as I walk along.

    Sharonlee

  4. i can so relate, nene. i think i might need to do this writing exercise as well. :-/

    imo has been watching cosmos too for the past several days!

    • i’ve been neglecting to blog regularly, though i promised myself i would. hay.

      isn’t the series great? random thought: saying “spaceship of the imagination” always reminds me of spongebob somehow.
      spongebob imagination

  5. I enjoyed reading! Especially the one about you supposed to be on diet and the box of kit-kats in the fridge. I had a good laugh cos I could relate. BTW I love your blog header!

    • thanks Joy! chocolate is my achilles’ heel!! :P
      i hear you… every time i see pretty pictures of cupcakes in this-or-that new café or a review of a cool new hawker place on my news feed, i get sooo tempted! kudos to making it to your 3rd week of healthy living, thinking to kick-start my own healthy regimen asap! :)

      • I saw the pictures of cupcakes on your twitter widget and I was like “oh no!!!” Even the mention of Kit-Kat got me licking my lips! I just decided to imagine eating it and savoring the taste of good old chocolate. I have weekends off so that’s the first thing I’m getting- KIT-KATS!!!!

Leave a Reply

