stopping by the blog

Leave a comment
europe / norway / on the road / on whatever

As part of my part-time MBA I’m now in the beautiful city of Bergen, Norway on exchange, taking in the sunny sunshine/bitter-cold rain (depending on the day’s fickle mood). More on Bergen in a future post.

It’s my first time to travel by myself in a long time. My mom has promptly reminded me of the Liam Neeson movie ‘Taken’ to bring home the reality that yes, dangers are afoot at every turn for women traveling alone and I am very likely to be their next victim (Luv you, Ma).

the awesome view from the bench behind the school building

the awesome view from the bench behind the school building

For this reason I have temporarily put on hold my Writing 101 posts, but will resume when I return to Singapore. I fully intend to complete the course.

I’ve still been scribbling in my journal in the evenings when it’s quiet, I’ve had enough of reading our lecture notes and the Hubby and I are done with Skype time. Entry last night:

So, one thing led to another

I was thinking of stepping outside to get some roast chicken. I checked my Gmail for a minute and read emails from family — my baby sister is now attending orientations before class starts officially on 23rd June. She’s an English teacher. I thought of writing a blog post on teachers who’ve really stayed with me through the years and realized all of them taught Lit. I was suddenly reminded of a really strict professor from my UP days whom I really liked… Sir Raymond Falgui. I Google-d him out of curiosity and found out he wrote something for the Innsmouth Free Press and that he liked Lovecraft too. Google-d the meaning of ‘Luddite.’

Before that

I was very annoyed on seeing inane stuff posted by relatives on my Facebook news feed. Oddly, they reminded me of something some Spanish philosopher I read in The Philosophy Book wrote. Google-d ‘The Philosophy Book’ and scrolled through its Table of Contents on Amazon. Finally found philosopher in question (was thinking about Jose Ortega y Gasset) and (again) Google-d the original text of ‘The Revolt of the Masses.’ Found a pdf on globalchristians.org, weirdly enough. Downloaded for reading.

Still thinking about chicken

Oh well. Overall conclusion: What would I do without Google?

The Author

I am 100% Filipina. I've lived in Manila, Jakarta, and London. Right now, I'm firmly planted in the tiny island of Singapore! I caught the travel bug early on. I also love reading, dark chocolate, spur-of-the-moment food trips, Fridays, dachshunds, and lazy weekends with my family or the Hubby.

Leave a Reply

