wishes on a tree, and a project

Leave a comment
neri's reads / on whatever

Dropped by Kinokuniya Liang Court for a small book haul after brunch today. I’ve been procrastinating on writing a credit paper. There are much better things to do, I keep thinking. Like go on a bus ride because it’s sunny out today. Or eat pancakes with the Hubby.

Kinokuniya_7

I’ve recently embarked on a new project, more for my mind’s peace and quiet than anything else. I’ve been thinking and debating with myself about matters related to career and what I really want to do. So far I’ve failed to come up with concrete answers. I am however, quite good at imagining catastrophic fails / more what if’s, and unearthing shiny(-ier) new pennies I’d like to pick up. I think I like to distract myself too much.

So I’ve decided to take a baby step forward and start a book blog. I’m starting with the books on my shelf which I’ve already read. It’s been a week and I’m enjoying it. I feel cautiously optimistic.

So, back to the book haul. I had my bag of books and we were on our way out when we passed a wish tree. Liang Court was celebrating Tanabata, the Japanese version of China’s Star Festival / Valentine’s Day. The festival celebrates the reunion of the Cowherd & Weaver Girl, who were separated by the Milky Way and were allowed to meet just once a year.

Kinokuniya_2I looked at some of the wishes. Quite a few of them had to do with getting good grades or a good GPA. (Insert ‘Asians’ meme here.)

Kinokuniya_6

Kinokuniya_5

As I expected, a close runner up were the love wishes…

Kinokuniya_4

… and wishes to do with getting rich.

Kinokuniya_3

This particular wish was unusually specific.

Then came the crazy fanciful ones.

Kinokuniya_1

I want laser eyes of love too!

Here’s to each and every wish on that tree (including mine). May they all come true.

 

The Author

I am 100% Filipina. I've lived in Manila, Jakarta, and London. Right now, I'm firmly planted in the tiny island of Singapore! I caught the travel bug early on. I also love reading, dark chocolate, spur-of-the-moment food trips, Fridays, dachshunds, and lazy weekends with my family or the Hubby.

Leave a Reply

