our wedding playlist

Leave a comment
the Big Day

I imported all my posts from my other blog, A Reader in Singapore, and ended up with confusion as WordPress mixed most of my posts’ photos up. I filed all the imported posts under ‘Neri’s Reads‘ and set about fixing the mess — in one post on Gahan Wilson’s art WordPress had substituted a photo of Wilson’s book with a snap of silkworms at work which I took in Suzhou. How random.

All this unintentional housekeeping led me to my ‘Drafts’ folder. Whenever I get an idea for a post, I write down a working title and save a draft. The folder has grown faster than I could write. There were a lot of year-old drafts. One of these is titled “wedding playlist,” which I created back in March 2013, two months after my wedding.

I enjoyed creating our wedding playlist. Not all of the songs were used that day; some of these lived in my iPod alone. I played them while on the Tube back in the day when all I could think about was the wedding. I also gave the list to our band Seasons Music Ensemble for them to have an idea of what we wanted during our reception. I’m not sure which songs they actually played.

Here goes. Bear in mind our wedding was back in January 2013. I’m sure plenty of good songs have been released since then.

(You can play all the songs below in sequence by clicking on my YouTube playlist.)

Songs on our Videos
1. Lenka – Maybe I Love You (Threelogy used this in our Save the Date video. Initially apprehensive, but it grew on me!)

2. The Avett Brothers – January Wedding (Not really on any of our videos, but I had this on loop weeks before the big day)

3. Charlene Soraia – Wherever You Will Go (The Calling cover) (Threelogy used this in our Same Day Edit. I couldn’t stop thinking about the Twinings tea advert. Not really what I would pick for myself)

Songs for our Growing Up Video 

(Lovingly crafted by my big sis and a cousin who edits videos for a major local TV station. I was the one who picked out a list of songs they could use for the video, but the first time I watched this, I grew teary all the same.)

4. Ingrid Michaelson – Sort Of
5. She & Him – I Was Made For You
6. The Chiffons – One Fine Day
7. Barry Louis Polisar – All I Want Is You
8. Tim Myers – Simply Wonderful
9. Florence + The Machine – Dog Days Are Over
10. Peter Gabriel – The Book of Love

11. Jason Mraz – I Won’t Give Up (used for Nelwin Uy’s awesome photo slideshow)

Songs on the Big Day
12. Pink – Raise Your Glass (Entrance Song)

13. Arctic Monkeys – Baby I’m Yours (I heard this song and knew I wanted it for our first dance. It didn’t matter that it sounded “pang-matanda” (for old people, as our dance instructor put it), I wanted it. :) Anyway he still taught us dance steps to go with it, three days before the wedding.)

14. Jose Mari Chan – Sing Me A Song Again, Daddy (Father-Daughter Dance)

15. Taken by Trees – Sweet Child O’ Mine (Guns N’ Roses cover) (Mother-Son Dance)

16. Vanessa Carlton – A Thousand Miles (my lovely little sis played this live on the piano for us that night)

17. Pitbull – Give Me Everything ft. Ne-Yo, Afrojack, Nayer (to kick off the after party!)

18. Noah and the Whale – 5 Years’ Time (the song I originally wanted for our Save the Date — but Threelogy did a good job going with Lenka’s song)

The Rest of the Playlist

19. Plain White T’s – 1, 2, 3, 4

20. Toad The Wet Sprocket – All I Want

21. Etta James – At Last (a perennial wedding favorite)

22. Big Mountain – Baby, I Love Your Way

23. Jack Johnson – Better Together

24. Billie Holiday – Blue Moon

25. Norah Jones – Come Away With Me

26. Carrie Underwood – Ever Ever After

27. Michael Bublé – Everything

28. The Beatles – Here, There, And Everywhere

29. Colbie Caillat – I Do

30. Jason Mraz – I Melt With You

31. Eraserheads – Ligaya

32. Nat King Cole – L-O-V-E

33. Jason Mraz – I’m Yours

34. Bruno Mars – Marry You

35. Plain White T’s – Rhythm Of Love

36. Parachute – She Is Love

37. Queen – Somebody To Love

38. Dashboard Confessional – Stolen (yup, it’s a college thing)

39. She & Him- Sweet Darlin’

40. The Dixie Cups – Going To The Chapel Of Love

41. Kina Grannis – The One You Say Goodnight To

42. The Beatles – Two Of Us

43. The Carpenters – We’ve Only Just Begun

44. Nat King Cole – When I Fall in Love (Sleepless in Seattle, aaahhh)

45. The Beach Boys – Wouldn’t It Be Nice

46. Lifehouse – You And Me

47. Ray LaMontagne – You Are The Best Thing

48. Elton John – Your Song

49. Matt White – Love

50. The Features – The Idea of Growing Old

51. The La’s – There She Goes

52. Los Campesinos! – By Your Hand

53. Van Morrison – Crazy Love

54. Francis Dunnery – Good Life

55. Blake Lewis – I Got U

56. fun. – Light A Roman Candle With Me

57. Cake – Love You Madly (I think we also used this for the cake-cutting ceremony)

58. The Bird And The Bee – My Love

59. Joel Plaskett – A Million Dollars

60. Band Of Horses – No One’s Gonna Love You

61. Brenton Wood – Oogum Boogum

62. The Old 97’s – Question

63. College & Electric Youth – A Real Hero

64. Regina Spektor – Real Love (John Lennon cover)

65. Rachel Platten – 1,000 Ships

66. Noah And The Whale – 2 Atoms In A Molecule

67. Marianne’s Wish – 830 (Ready To Go)

68. Lindsey Ray – You Make Me Happy

69. Elliott Smith – Say Yes

70. Eels – Beginner’s Luck

71. The Courteeners – Take Over The World (This was the song I wanted for our SDE, but it was released two years before the wedding, I think — and by the time our date rolled around had been used one too many times. Sniff.)

Tips for making your own wedding playlist

  • Use songs you both enjoy as a couple. The Hubby gave me free reign (mostly). I think I was more particular about our wedding music than he was. :) He had a say on the big ones though, like the dance etc.
  • Don’t limit yourself to one decade! I recall that time Spotify was useful in recommending songs. Random YouTube sessions also helped.
  • The songs don’t have to be about love, really. It’s all about you two and what you like.
  • Have fun!
The Author

I am 100% Filipina. I've lived in Manila, Jakarta, and London. Right now, I'm firmly planted in the tiny island of Singapore! I caught the travel bug early on. I also love reading, dark chocolate, spur-of-the-moment food trips, Fridays, dachshunds, and lazy weekends with my family or the Hubby.

Leave a Reply

