The Photo Dump

Leave a comment
on the road

I have a folder on my hard drive labeled “Peanut 3rd month onwards” which has all the photos we’ve taken since early 2016. Took the “onwards” too literally.

There are weekly photos of Peanut, sent to relatives in the Philippines; monthly “birthdays” with all kinds of store-bought cakes he never ate.

Photos of a priest blessing the place we thought we’d call home by now. But plans change.

A sunny day in Hyde Park. It feels good to be back in our old neighborhood with the same places intact — the Aberdeen Steak House outside Paddington Station, the overpriced local Nisa, the curry smells from the Indian restaurant in the corner. The blue Barclays bikes are now red Santander cycles.

Peanut’s first dip in a pool.

St. Stephen’s in Vienna. We skip walking up the 300+ steps of the South Tower; Hubby quips, “we’re not spring chickens anymore.” The church has a Madonna statue for “domestics”, black with centuries of candle smoke.

The finale of two years of busy nights and weekends. The final lap made more challenging with having to attend classes “with” Peanut.

A coffee and sacher torte in Salzburg. A couple sits opposite us, asks us to take their photo. The husband says they had visited the place years ago, and sat where we sat.

The awesome traffic lights in Vienna.

This lonely, cheerful snowman at the Belvedere. I fail to make the connection between our favorite vodka and the palace until Hubby points it out.

First steps, no hands.

We arrive in Prague to the sound of fire alarms: “We’re testing the sirens. We’re testing the sirens.” I get a Moscow vibe in Prague’s metro and Hubby tells me it was built by Russian contractors. I think the view from Charles Bridge looks like Miyazaki’s vision of Europe in his films.

A spot of chocolate. Two white spots at the top, an unusual spot for first teeth.

Our best meal on the trip — authentic Spanish/Guatemalan cuisine at El Centro. This is a plate of Pimientos del Piquillo rellenos, bright red peppers stuffed with beef.

First trip to the beach. Back in Bali where we had our babymoon, this time with the baby. He digs his toes in the sand several times before looking up with a grin.

At the John Lennon Wall. There is a busker playing guitar (a Beatles song, of course). A friend tells me he thinks he saw the same guy on his visit years ago.

Night lights in Boracay. One of the houses along the beach has a “For Sale” sign. I imagine the possibilities.

Wishes at the Meiji Shrine. I love Peanut’s pom pom hat. He wriggles away from me to run, but I hold him back. We’re supposed to be quiet.

Back home.

The Author

I am 100% Filipina. I've lived in Manila, Jakarta, and London. Right now, I'm firmly planted in the tiny island of Singapore! I caught the travel bug early on. I also love reading, dark chocolate, spur-of-the-moment food trips, Fridays, dachshunds, and lazy weekends with my family or the Hubby.

Leave a Reply

